Procrastination Doesn’t Draw Comics (Who Knew?)

Ever had a great idea and perfectly laid plan? Me, too!

WordPress_sketches2

This was the first comic strip I ever drew, dated almost one year ago (June 22. 2014). Wow, how time flies!

Well, we know what they say about the best laid plans. I had intended to write and draw Dog and Baby to cover a particular time period, but I hit a point in the drawing where I felt completely incompetent. Boom. It was a wall, and it came up pretty fast.

The first handful had taken some work, some rework, and some acceptance that they differed a lot from the vision I had in mind. They definitely weren’t perfect! I had a bunch of written material; jokes, character development, feelings and such, but after the first few strips, I just couldn’t figure out how I wanted to show them. (Actually, when I finally blew the dust off my sketch book two days ago, I found two more completed strips I had forgotten about. Oops.)

Trying to get over the wall, I came up with some options for moving forward, but couldn’t decide on which way to go. I’ve never drawn a comic before, so figuring out my style and interpretation has been like feeling around in the dark in somebody else’s house.  I wanted to test out different styles and tools, but it was scary, and I didn’t want to mess up! I lingered in that indecision for the better part of a year, and now, a year later all I have to show for it is: nothing.

That’s a tough realization.

In May, I was ready to pick the pencil back up, but found I was still at the same point. Stuck trying to figure out the ‘perfect’ next step. I’m still not sure exactly what I’m doing, but at least I’m putting pen to paper and making some scribbles.

WordPress_sketches1

So, I hope this post will serve as a PSA for anyone else out there that has hit this point, and as a reminder to myself when I inevitably hit it again. Don’t linger in indecision! When you think of a way around and over you hurdles, act on it! If you get stuck again, you can always try something different.

Looking back, I would have much rather had a year’s worth of poorly drawn, experimental comic strips than nothing. It’s a better investment of time and energy to take the chance that something might not work out.

What do YOU think?

