On Duplicity

I started a new job awhile ago, and was chatting with a new friend/coworker. In the course of the conversation, I said that I don’t really use duplicity on a daily basis; that I do my best to represent the world as accurately as I can. Which is true.

And also not true.

 

On reflection, it seems I’m entirely capable of duplicity, and worse, I  do it every day. Twelve hours a day, five days a week, for literally years now. It’s the kind of duplicity necessary to work on someone else’s passion instead of your own for hours a day, to slog back home and do it all over again the next morning.

I like to think of myself as representing the world as truthfully as I can; and in some ways I do; when recalling details or a sequence of events or whatever. But to myself; it seems I’m a compulsive liar. And I don’t know how to stop.

One thought on “On Duplicity”

  1. In a way…someone else’s passion leads to someone else’s duplicity and combining their duplicity with our duplicity, certainly does not divide each other out. No, only multiplies into one big duplicitous shit storm.

What do YOU think?

